top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon

Edinburgh Scotland


During the second half of our study abroad, I had the opportunity to travel to Scotland and Ireland. It was a whirlwind adventure involving a 5 hour train ride and 2 destinations in just over 48 hours. Our first stop was the beautiful city of Edinburgh, Scotland. We stepped out of the Waverly train station and walked with our bags a few miles to our Air B & B located on the Royal Mile. I couldn't take a lot with me for the weekend, so I wore my simple black Kate Spade purse (available here.)

We sat for about 30 minutes to catch our breath and then began our journey around Edinburgh. We first walked through Princes Street Gardens featuring the Scott Monument in honor of Sir Walter Scott. I wore this Navy Blue, double breasted coat (similar here.) This coat saved me from the cold weather (it was just a week prior I was on the beaches of Santorini.) This coat is perfect for weather between 30 and 40 degrees.

Edinburgh is filled with hills, so our next stop was to travel near Dean Village. We walked down towards a creek a waterfall. There was a perfect trail with some steep steps. It included both man-made and natural areas.

We walked to the other side of the city and up Calton Hill. I was opposed to this climb as we had already exercised enough for the day, but Marissa and Laurel insisted. The view was definitely worth it. I am wearing a cropped light pink sweater from Brandy Melville (similar here.) This sweater is so soft, and after walking much of the day I felt a little warm with my coat. I also wore my Tommy Hilfiger shoes (similar here.) While I didn't want to wear sneakers to walk, these provided more support than boots.

After our long day of walking, we went to a whisky tasting experience that included an educational ride about how it is made. Then we headed to a local cathedral to experience more Gothic architecture. Just before our flight to Dublin the next day we walked to the end of the royal mile and took a tour of the Edinburgh Castle. We took a taxi to the airport, and the nicest old man gave us one last tour of the city on the way. Edinburgh has a law that they can't change the architecture, so even new businesses must work with structures that are already in place. From Edinburgh, we took a short flight to Dublin for the next 24 hours. Stay tuned.

bottom of page