top of page
No tags yet.

SEARCH BY TAGS: 

RECENT POSTS: 

FOLLOW ME:

  • Instagram Social Icon
  • Twitter Social Icon
  • Tumblr Social Icon

Weekend in the City


I had the most amazing weekend in New York visiting my aunt and my former roommate Lieke who lives in Holland. Luckily my friend Gabby was going to New York the same day as me, so we drove from Gainesville to Orlando and took the same flight.

On Friday, I popped into Zara wearing an outfit completely from Zara. It felt very strange but flattering toward the store. Marissa’s family was in town for the weekend, and as she was showing her dad the “find my friends” app, she realized we were 5 minutes away from each other. After shopping, I stopped by where they were eating lunch to quickly say hello and finally introduce everyone to my famous aunt from New York. Marissa’s parents are the kindest people, so it was great to see them again in a different state!

After, we confirmed our brunch plans for Sunday, and I headed to my aunt’s local pizza shop where the pizza men greeted me with, “You’re back from Florida!” NYC can be small sometimes too. We headed home and I did some work for my internship as my boss was kind enough to let me take off two days so I could travel. I was getting nervous because there was no way to contact Lieke until she turned on her international data. It turns out she got stuck in customs, but called me from the Starbucks at the end of my aunt’s block. I ran in, we embraced like we were in a movie, and thus began the best weekend ever.

The view from my aunt’s rooftop is incredible. I take the same photo in the same spot every single year. Pictured above I am wearing this off the shoulder harsh orange blouse from Zara that I bought in London last year (similar here) and white high-waisted shorts also from Zara (similar here.) I love these shorts because they a bit longer while still being trendy. I bought these almost a year ago, but I’ve noticed in the last few months that this style is become popular. The way the shorts cinch at the top and flare out creates a really nice figure almost like a reverse peplum style.

Lieke and I headed to Bryant park to sit and catch up before meeting with her friend Rhea who also went to UF and works in NYC now. The three of us went to a rooftop bar to enjoy the view of the city at sunset before eating dinner at the Answorth. I ordered the most incredible and massive mac and cheese burger. Day one with Lieke and Rhea was almost over, but we prepared to have a completely filled day two. To be continued…


bottom of page